



## CAPP (Children Are Priceless

Passengers

## Did you know?

- Car crashes are the number one killer of children ages 1 to 12 in the United States.
- 40 percent of children who should be in a child restraint are not in one
- 80 percent of child restraints are installed incorrectly
- Every 12 minutes, one person is killed in a motor vehicle crash
- Properly used rear-facing car seats reduce the risk of death during a crash by 71 percent
- Properly used forward-facing car seats reduce the risk of death during a crash by 54 percent



Arizona law requires all children under 8 years old and under 4'9" to be properly secured in a child safety seat. Child safety seats include infant seats, convertible seats, forward-facing seats or other federally-approved safety devices. The seat must meet appropriate height and weight specifications for the child. There is a fine of up to \$176 for violation of Arizona State Law 28-907.

Every child under 8 years old must in an appropriate child safety seat.

Every child from 8 to 16 years old who is not secured in a car seat must be secured with the vehicle's seat belt. Protect your child as they ride! The back seat is the safest. Children under 13 years old should ride in the back seat.

Car Seat Safety classes now being offered monthly at Mt. Graham Regional Medical Center.

Cost: \$35 (payable by cash or money order) When: 2024

August 7, September 4, October 2, November 6, December 4 Classes will begin at 5pm How to register: Call 928-348-3701 or for online registration please visit <u>www.mtgraham.org/carseatsafety</u> Classes will be held at Mt. Graham Regional Medical Center